Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Indianapolis 500 Practice Day 2

Verizon IndyCar Series cars returned to the famed 2.5 mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway Monday for day two of practice for the Indianapolis 500.

With impending weather, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway was much busier than yesterday's early afternoon with 872 laps ran compared to Sunday's 135 at the same time. By the halfway mark at 3pm, 28 of the 33 entered cars had seen track activity with Andretti Autosport's Marco Andretti quickest with a lap at 224.037mph. Buddy Lazier, James Davison, Charlie Kimball, Ryan Briscoe and Sebastian Saavedra were the only drivers yet to make an appearance.

When the checkered flag fell, 30 of the 33 entered cars had taken laps with 2,286 turned total. Just James Davison, Buddy Lazier and Sebastian Saavedra didn't see the track. Saavedra's team, KV AFS Racing, has spent much of the past two days recovering from his crash to open the Grand Prix of Indianapolis.

Ryan Hunter-Reay ended the day at the top of the speed charts, bumping teammate Marco Andretti who stood atop the majority of the day. The speeds, however, do not accurately reflect single car runs as the top runs were accomplished with a tow. That said, the top speeds:

1-Hunter-Reay, Ryan - 225.025mph
2-Andretti, Marco - 224.037mph
3-Castroneves, Helio - 223.635mph
4-Wilson, Justin - 223.611mph
5-Montoya, Juan Pablo - 223.395mph
6-Munoz, Carlos - 223.172mph
7-Aleshin, Mikhail - 223.120mph
8-Dixon, Scott - 223.119mph
9-Busch, Kurt - 222.770mph
10-Viso, EJ - 222.695mph
11-Kanaan, Tony - 222.635mph
12-Briscoe, Ryan - 222.132mph
13-Newgarden, Josef - 222.082mph
14-Pagenaud, Simon - 221.862mph
15-Power, Will - 221.735mph
16-Servia, Oriol - 221.529mph
17-Tagliani, Alex - 221.408mph
18-Hildebrand, JR - 221.266mph
19-Hawksworth, Jack - 221.257mph
20-Rahal, Graham - 221.107mph
21-Villeneuve, Jacques - 221.101mph
22-Sato, Takuma - 220.891mph
23-Karam, Sage - 220.543mph
24-Bell, Townsend -0 220.307mph
25-Mann, Pippa - 220.206mph
26-Bourdais, Sebastien - 220.116mph
27-Carpenter, Ed - 219.647mph
28-Huertas, Carlos - 219.246mph
29-Plowman, Martin - 218.852mph
30-Kimball, Charlie - 218.229mph

Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard, who was hit by debris on the standing start collision between Sebastian Saavedra, Mikhail Aleshin and Carlos Munoz, returned to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway today in good spirits. Mayor Ballard said that he was 'fine', showing just bruising. Ballard also explained that it was his decision to be positioned that close to the track and actually wanted to be closer.

A.J. Watson, a 4-time Indianapolis 500 winning chief mechanic ('55, '56, '59 & '62) and 6-time winning constructor ('56, '59, '60, '62, '63 & '64) passed away early this morning. Watson celebrated his 90th Birthday last Thursday.


Graham Rahal's girlfriend NHRA Funny Car driver Courtney Force

Martin Plowman & fiance 2009 Miss Indiana Nicole Pollard


Post a Comment