Chaves Confirmed To '500' Ride With New Team

The worst kept secret in INDYCAR was finally announced...

Napa Returns With Rossi

A.J. Foyt Racing announced...

Carpenter Signs Pigot

Ed Carpenter Racing announced...

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Bourdais Cleared To Drive

INDYCAR, the sanctioning body of the Verizon IndyCar Series, announced Wednesday that Sebastien Bourdais has been cleared to race.

Bourdais was injured in a Turn 2 crash on his 3rd lap of his first attempt on the first day of Qualifications for last May's 101st Indianapolis 500. The French driver suffered multiple pelvis fractures and a right hip fracture.

The 36-time race winner, completed a medical evaluation test at Mid-Ohio July 31.

Since the incident, James Davison, Esteban Gutierrez and Tristan Vautier have filled in to pilot the No. 18 Dale Coyne car.

It's likely Dale Coyne racing will continue to utilize a replacement driver for the next two rounds on ovals at Pocono and Gateway. A return for the final two races at Watkins Glen and Sonoma is very possible.

Monday, July 17, 2017

Montoya & Servia To Test 2018 Aero Kit

The testing program for next season's new aero kit kicks off July 25th on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval, Oriol Servia and Juan Pablo Montoya will be behind the wheel.

Two cars will test, one from Honda and one from Chevrolet. Servia will run the Schmidt Peterson Motorsports provided chassis for Honda while Montoya runs the Team Penske chassis for Chevrolet.

Following the IMS test, the cars will be taken to Mid-Ohio, Iowa and Sebring International Raceway.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Coyne Taps Vautier For Texas

Dale Coye Racing has announced the signing of Tristan Vautier to pilot the teams No. 18 entry in Texas.

Vautier previously competed on the Texas oval in 2013 and 2015 finishing 18th and 20th with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports and Dale Coyne.

“We chose Tristan to fill the 18 seat at Texas because of his previous experience at Texas Motor Speedway,” said Team Owner Dale Coyne. “We think he can help the team and Ed (Jones) who has never raced or even tested there. Tristan has remained close with the team and he’s always done a good job for us. I expect much of the same going into this race weekend.”

Coyne's No. 18, which was left vacant following Sebastien Bourdais's qualifying injury in Indianapolis, was piloted by former F1 driver Esteban Gutierrez in Detroit.

Monday, June 5, 2017

Rahal Dominates Detroit

Entering the Detroit Duals the Verizon IndyCar Series saw 6 different winners through the first 6 races of 2017. The streak continued through Dual 1, with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing's  Graham Rahal becoming the 7th winner in 7 events.

Thanks to Rahal the streak came to a screeching halt at Dual 2. Rahal's domination of the first race continued into the second, leading 96 of the 140 race laps (69%) over the weekend.

Oddly, the top 2 drivers in the Championship (Dixon & Castroneves) have yet to win a race. Drivers who have won this season currently sit 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th, 8th, 10th & 18th (Sato, Pagenaud, Newgarden, Rahal, Power, Hinchcliffe & Bourdais).

Saturday, June 3, 2017

Detroit Grand Prix Race 1 Qualification Results

Welcome to the Detroit Grand Prix.

Verizon IndyCar Series qualifications will be held each race morning. Saturday's sessions is 10:05-10:35 while Sunday's is 10:45-11:15.

Unlike most road/street course events, qualifications will not follow the multiple round knock-out format. The entered cars will be split up into two groups. The quickest lap from either of the two sessions will become the pole winner. The winner's group will then file into the odd number starting positions with the other group in the even positions

Qualifications Race 1 Results

1 - Rahal
2 - Castroneves
3 - Sato
4 - Rossi
5 - Hinchcliffe
6 - Dixon
7 - Pagenaud
8 - Chilton
9 - Newgarden
10 - Kimball
11 - Power
12 - Hunter-Reay
13 - Andretti
14 - Munoz
15 - Kanaan
16 - Daly
17 - Pigot
18 - Hildebrand
19 - Gutierrez
20 - Aleshin
21 - Jones
22 - Servia