Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Wilson, Honda, Pappas Join Coyne

UPDATE (1/25 5:58pm) Dale Coyne Racing has confirmed the addition of Justin Wilson and engineer Bill Pappas to the teams 2012 plans.

“I am really excited as to how all of this has come together,” Wilson said.  “Dale is committed to win, and it shows by him bringing back my 2009 engineer Bill Pappas, the level playing field of a new car and the much appreciated continuation with Honda engines should make 2012 a very exciting year for all of us.”

The trio of Wilson, Pappas, and Coyne put together three top 5's and the teams first win at Watkins Glen in 2009.

 “I want to thank Dale for being able to put this combination back together,” said Pappas.  “I think the world of Justin and his abilities and now we can seriously get after the challenge of winning more races.”

The team's second car and driver combination will be announced in February.


Honda Performance Development announced Wednesday the partnership with Dale Coyne Racing to power the teams two-car 2012 effort.

“Dale Coyne Racing has been one of IndyCar’s most durable teams, with a history that extends
for nearly 30 years.” said HPD president and VP of corprate planning & logistics for American Honda, Erik Berkman. “It’s great to have them racing with us in 2012. Dale’s team has made great strides in recent seasons, and he has made moves this off-season to further improve. We’re looking forward to continuing our association with him in 2012.”

The signing of Honda should also be followed in the coming days by the announcement of the readdition of veteran Justin Wilson to the team, as first reported by SPEED TV's Robin Miller.

“We have felt a part of the Honda family from their first days in CART back in the early 1990s till
today," commented DCR team owner Dale Coyne. "We are very pleased to enter this next
stage of IndyCar history with a company so dedicated to winning and rich in successful
motorsports heritage like Honda. Together we hope to accomplish great things in 2012."

Coyne will be joining the flagship team Chip Ganassi Racing, as well as Rahal Letterman Lanigan, A.J. Foyt Racing, and Sam Schmidt Motorsports under the Honda banner in 2012.


Post a Comment