Thursday, May 19, 2011

Thursday Wrapup

For the first time since Monday, more than 13 laps were turned on the 2.5 mile square oval in Indianapolis.

Just a few minutes into the 6-hour scheduled practice session, Simona De Silvestro was involved in the first accident of the month. During the exit of Turn 3, De Silvestro's car suffered a rear end failure, possibly suspension, sending the airborne car backwards into the wall. Making contact with the SAFER barrier, the #78 entry fell back to the track before sliding through the short chute and again taking to the air and plunging into the extreme lower portion of the catch fence. Once hitting the ground for the second time, the HVM driver's primary car flipped, caught fire and slid to a halt at the bottom of the track.

The fire was quickly extinguished and De Silvestro walked away on her own to the safety vehicle. After first being treated in the infield care center, she was transported by ground to Methodist Hospital in Indianapolis where she was later released with second-degree burns to her right hand and superficial burns to her left.

The #78 primary car was destroyed in the crash with tears in the sidepods, a smashed roll hoop, and major damage to both the front and rear ends. The back up car is expected to be rolled out for a qualification attempt by either De Silvestro or a replacement driver this weekend.

A short scheduled yellow to clean the track was the only other caution for the day, resulting in over 5 hours of green flag track time.

Will Power topped the charts with a late rally running a 227.778mph lap with a tow turned with just minutes left in the session. Alex Tagliani with a 227.652, believed to be without help, and Ryan Briscoe at 227.217 were the only other entries in the 227's.

The complete rundown:

  1. Will Power 227.778
  2. Alex Tagliani 227.652
  3. Ryan Briscoe 227.217
  4. Helio Castroneves 226.927
  5. Townsend Bell 226.741
  6. JR Hildebrand 226.527
  7. Oriol Servia 226.471
  8. Scott Dixon 226.453
  9. Ed Carpenter 226.376
  10. Danica Patrick 226.267
  11. Graham Rahal 226.142
  12. Paul Tracy 225.906
  13. Tony Kanaan 225.906
  14. Dan Wheldon 225.802
  15. Justin Wilson 225.648
  16. Dario Franchitti 225.603
  17. Jay Howard 225.594
  18. Vitor Meira 225.540
  19. Takuma Sato 225.308
  20. Buddy Rice 225.184
  21. Pippa Mann 225.092
  22. Marco Andretti 224.954
  23. Ryan Hunter-Reay 224.873
  24. John Andretti 224.684
  25. Bruno Junqueira 224.644
  26. Tomas Scheckter 224.632
  27. Bertrand Baguett 224.617
  28. Alex Lloyd 224.525
  29. Charle Kimball 224.433
  30. James Hinchcliffe 224.333
  31. Ana Beatriz 224.123
  32. EJ Viso 224.056
  33. Davey Hamilton 223.889
  34. Raphael Matos 223.349
  35. Ho-Pin Tung 223.348
  36. Mike Conway 222.359
  37. Simona De Silvestro 222.192
  38. Scott Speed 222.177
  39. Sebastian Saavedra 221.709
  40. James Jakes 220.709


Post a Comment