Saturday, June 5, 2010

Oval Trophy Announced

The IZOD IndyCar Series oval trophy will be named after 4 time Indianapolis 500 winner, A.J. Foyt. Voted on by the fans using an online-poll, Rick Mears gained the 2nd most votes followed by Mario Andretti, Bill Vukovich and my nominee, Ted Horn.

Heading into tonights race at Texas Motor Speedway, Dario Franchitti has a 13 point lead over Scott Dixon in the oval standings followed by Helio Castroneves, Dan Wheldon and Tony Kanaan.

The Road and Street course trophy honoree will be announced over the 4th of July Weekend at Watkins Glen. The drivers up for the naming rights are Mario Andretti, Alex Zanardi, Mark Donahue, Dan Gurney, and my nominee Al Unser Jr. You can vote HERE.

"This is an honor that I really appreciate for a couple reasons. I've always liked ovals more than road courses -- the Indy cars didn't run that many road courses when I won most of my races. Second, it was voted on by the fans so that makes it pretty special to me.”

"I like the challenges of the ovals -- you have to have everything right: the driver, the car and the team. If you make a mistake on a road course, you can make it up in the next corner or two. Make a mistake on an oval and you end up in the wall. Ovals are a lot less forgiving."

“I think the Oval champion will be the driver and team that make the fewest mistakes. To have my name on that trophy is pretty cool any way you look at it." -A.J. Foyt


Post a Comment