Sunday, June 12, 2016

Texas Race Postponed To August

The rain just wouldn't let up at the Texas Motor Speedway.

Originally scheduled for Saturday night, the Firestone 600 was postponed to Sunday at 1:06 pm local time.

Come Sunday afternoon the weepers were still weeping, causing a 40 minute delay, but the drivers were finally called to start their engines at 1:44pm.

An hour later the skies opened up, red flagging the race on Lap 71. With an ominous  forecast, INDYCAR made the decision to postpone the race to August 27th.

The one-day event will consist of an autograph session, practice and then the remaining 177 laps of the 600 km race at a time TBD. When the race picks up at Lap 71 the remaining order will consist of:

1 - James Hinchcliffe
2 - Ryan Hunter-Reay
3 - Mikhail Aleshin
4 - Will Power
5 - Ed Carpenter
6 - Gabby Chaves
7 - Helio Castroneves
8 - Charlie Kimball
9 - Carlos Munoz
10 - Juan Pablo Montoya

Both Conor Daly and Josef Newgarden, assuming he's medically cleared to drive, who were involved in a Lap 42 incident are expected to be allowed to return to the race.


Post a Comment