Monday, May 11, 2015

Indianapolis 500 Practice Day 1

Just before the green flag was scheduled to fall for the hour-long noon ROP and refresher course session rain drops began to fall, causing a short delay. But the precipitation soon dissipated, allowing 5 drivers on track.

JR  Hildebrand started off the session in the No. 21 car of his teammate Josef Newgarden before sliding into his own No. 6 ride. Townsend Bell, Sebastian Saavedra, Carlos Huertas and Stefano Coletti also turned laps.

The most important laps of the early session came from Coletti, who missed Opening Day last Sunday while in Europe. The KV Racing Technology driver passed Phase 1 of his Rookie Orientation Program easily. While in the second phase, the driver reported a vibration and asked to pit. After a short while he returned to the track before being black flagged and called in because the left side Chevy aero kit pieces of his DW12 chassis were visibly flapping and vibrating.

After officials made the call to extend the session due to the delayed start earlier, they extended it again after a short stop to rectify his issue, Coletti returned to the track and passed Phase 2, allowing the rookie to practice with the veterans. He later went on to pass the final phase in practice.

The day was incident free, with the exception of a no-contact spin on pit lane by Colletti. The spin came after leaving the pits. He was pulled back, re-fired and back underway.

30 of the 34 cars on the Indianapolis 500 entry list turned laps today. Jack Hawksworth, Alex Tagliani, Buddy Lazier and the 3rd TBA entry for Dale Coyne Racing were the only stagnant entries.

Top 5 Practice Results

1 - Karam 225.802mph
2 - Dixon 225.293mph
3 - Kanaan 225.207mph
4 - Andretti 225.184mph
5 - Hildebrand 224.760mph

No-Tow Practice Speeds

1 - Dixon 224.443mph
2 - Munoz 223.718mph
3 - Pagenaud 222.815mph
4 - Sato 222.804mph
5 - Karam 222.797mph
6 - Carpenter 222.635mph
7 - Chaves222.404mph
8 - Kanaan 222.213mph
9 - De Silvestro 222.076mph
10 - Jakes 221.655mph
11 - Hildebrand 221.578mph
12 - Servia 221.575mph
13 - Bourdais 221.516mph
14 - Hinchcliffe 221.493mph
15 - Daly 221.193mph
16 - Newgarden 220.869mph
17 - Kimball 220.766mph
18 - Hunter-Reay 220.727mph
19 - Bell 220.658mph
20 - Wilson 220.485mph
21 - Andretti 219.963mph
22 - Rahal 219.708mph
23 - Mann 219.267mph
24 - Coletti 218.980mph
25 - Saavedra 218.921mph
26 - Clauson 218.925mph
27 - Huertas 212.192mph


Post a Comment