Thursday, February 17, 2011

Board Expanded, TG Reinstated

During a regularly scheduled shareholders meeting, Hulman and Company added four members to it's board of directors.  Anton "Tony" George,  was reinstated to the board after resigning his position just over a year ago, and was joined by Andre B. Lacy, Michael L. Smith and Jerry W. Throgmartin as the boards newest members.

“As we strive to position Hulman & Company to be more competitive and relevant in this marketplace, the current board believes we can strengthen our position by calling upon the successful business expertise of these additional board members,” said Mari Hulman George, IMS chairman of the board. “We are pleased to welcome Andre, Mike and Jerry to the board. In addition, I am particularly pleased that we will be adding Tony to the Hulman & Company board, a board upon which he has been a member in the past."

Tony George, Lacy, Smith and Throgmart join Nancy George, Josephine George, Katherine George-Conforti and Mari Hulman George as the current 8 person Hulman & Co. board.

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway board remains the same, with members Mari Hulman George, Nancy George, Josie George, Kathi George-Conforti, and Jack Snyder.

New member bios courtesy of IMS PR:

Andre B. Lacy

Lacy serves as chairman of the board of LDI Ltd., based in Indianapolis. Under Lacy’s leadership, LDI grew from a corrugated box manufacturer to a diversified holding company whose business units have earned the number-one and number-two positions in their respective industries.

Lacy began his career at LDI’s predecessor company, U.S. Corrugated, as an office clerk during summer breaks from school. After graduating from Denison University in 1961, Lacy took on more responsibility with the company as an analyst, sales rep, plant manager and regional manager. He was named president and CEO in 1983.

Ernst and Young named Lacy “Indiana Master Entrepreneur of the Year” in 1994. He serves on the boards of The National Bank of Indianapolis, Herff Jones, Inc., Patterson Companies (NYSE-PDCO), National Association of Wholesale Distributors and the Nature Conservancy of Indiana. Lacy was recently appointed by Governor Mitch Daniels to serve as the chair of the Indians State Fair Commission. Lacy’s strong commitment to central Indiana is reflected by his current and past leadership roles with these organizations: Indianapolis Public Schools, Indianapolis 500 Festival Association, United Way, Hudson Institute, Rose Hulman Institute of Technology, Community Leaders Allied for Superior Schools (CLASS), Economic Club of Indianapolis, Central Indiana Corporate Partnership, Indianapolis Downtown Inc., St. Vincent Hospital Advisory Board and the Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce. Lacy is also active with Butler University’s Butler Business Accelerator.

Lacy and his wife, Julia, have three sons and nine grandchildren. He is a motorcycle enthusiast, a pilot and enjoys outdoor adventure travel.

Michael L. Smith

Mike Smith served as executive vice president and chief financial officer of Anthem, Inc. and its subsidiaries, Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield – which merged with Wellpoint (NYSE:WLP), before retiring in 2005. His retirement followed the merger of Anthem and WellPoint Health Networks, Inc.

Prior to joining Anthem, Smith was chairman, president and CEO of Mayflower Group, Inc. from 1989-95. Mayflower operated a worldwide relocation service. He started his business career with Arthur Andersen after graduating from DePauw University in 1970.

Smith serves on several boards of directors, including the following Kite Realty Group Trust, Vectren, hhgregg Inc., Emergency Medical Services Corporation, LDI, Ltd. and Carestream Health. Smith is also serving as chairman of the Commission for Higher Education in Indiana, is a trustee of DePauw University and the Lumina Foundation.

Smith and his wife live in Carmel, Ind.

Jerry W. Throgmartin

Jerry Throgmartin serves as executive chairman and a director of hhgregg (NYSE:HGG), a leading specialty retailer of premium video products, brand-name appliances, audio products and accessories that originated in Indianapolis. He joined hhgregg in 1975. He has served as chairman and CEO since January 2003 and a director since 1988. From 1999 to January 2003, he also served as hhgregg’s CEO and president. From 1988-99, he served as president and chief operating officer. Other positions held by Throgmartin within hhgregg include store manager, district manager, advertising director and vice president of store operations.

Throgmartin is a trustee of the University of Indianapolis and serves on the boards of the Indiana University Cancer Center, LDI, Ltd. and Throgmartin-Henke Development.


Post a Comment